Tuesday, July 05, 2005

Bar Dispute

The Yin Yang team took in the White Sox game at a local bar and of course there was a dispute. I am posting the evidence that I am right - a starting pitcher must pitch 5 innings to be elligible for the win. Better luck next time, Brandon McCarthy. Brandon was spotted a 5 run 1st inning lead against the Devil Rays, the worst team in the American League. Don't get down on Brandon too much though, he has enourmous potential.

The issue that hasn't been settled is this: Suppose a starting pitcher leaves in the 3rd inning leading 12-8. The next pitcher records one out, then is replaced by another pitcher who completes the remaining innings. Who gets the win? I will post in the comments when I figure this out (unless someone beats me to it)

UPDATE: I went to the official scorer's website and found the following...
WINNING AND LOSING PITCHER
10.19
(a) Credit the starting pitcher with a game won only if he has pitched at least five complete innings and his team not only is in the lead when he is replaced but remains in the lead the remainder of the game. (b) The "must pitch five complete innings" rule in respect to the starting pitcher shall be in effect for all games of six or more innings. In a five inning game, credit the starting pitcher with a game won if he has pitched at least four complete innings and his team not only is in the lead when he is replaced but remains in the lead the remainder of the game. (c) When the starting pitcher cannot be credited with the victory because of the provisions of 10.19 (a) or (b) and more than one relief pitcher is used, the victory shall be awarded on the following basis: (1) When, during the tenure of the starting pitcher, the winning team assumes the lead and maintains it to the finish of the game, credit the victory to the relief pitcher judged by the scorer to have been the most effective;(etc.)

4 Comments:

Blogger littleboxes said...

We think after the starter leaves (before 5 innings) it is anyone's ball game. meaning that who over pitches with the lead (and records at least one out) gets the win as long as the team they pitch for leads for the rest of the game.

maybe we could have said that better, but that's what we think.

13:33  
Blogger YD said...

The earlier note is correct, as I understand it. What I add is that the official scorer gets to decide which of the relief pitchers is most meritorious of the WIN.

19:02  
Blogger YD said...

The earlier note is correct as I understand it. What I add is that the official scorer gets to decide which of the relief pitchers is most meritorious of the WIN.

19:03  
Blogger Roy said...

You can see the update, YD is in fact correct. However, I'm still not sure what convention if any is used. I found another website that specifically says "Do not credit a victory to a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when a succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain the lead. In such cases, credit the succeeding relief pitcher with the victory."

19:23  

Post a Comment

<< Home